Sadiq Sanjarani re-elected as chairman Senate, Yousuf Raza Gilani’s seven votes rejected


Government candidate Sadiq Sanjarani has won the election of the new chairman of the upper house of Pakistan by getting 48 votes. He has been elected to the post for the second time.

In Friday’s election, Yousuf Raza Gilani, the joint candidate of the opposition Pakistan Democratic Movement, got 42 votes against Sadiq Sanjarani.

All 98 members of the House cast their votes, of which eight were rejected. One of the voters stamped the names of both the candidates while seven stamped their names instead of the box in front of Yousuf Raza Gilani.

Yousuf Raza Gilani’s polling agent Farooq Naik argued that according to the rules and regulations, the stamp has been asked to be put inside the box and all the stamps have been put inside the box so these votes should not be rejected while the presiding officer did not accept.

Presiding Officer Muzaffar Ali Shah said the losing candidates could appeal against their decision to the Election Tribunal.

After the announcement of victory, newly elected chairman Sadiq Sanjarani took the oath of chairman Senate.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.