Fiery knock by Haris helps Kandy knock Malik’s Jaffna out of LPL 2023


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Pakistan’s Mohammad Haris, lit up the Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2023 eiminator match, guiding B-Love Kandy to a decisive victory over Jaffna Kings on Thursday. 

Haris’ explosive innings proved to be the game-changer, sealing Jaffna’s fate and marking the end of their journey in the tournament.

After being asked to bat first, Kandy faced a tough challenge against the Jaffna bowling attack as opening batter Fakhar Zaman (0) was dismissed early.

However, the 22-year-old rose to the occasion, delivered an outstanding knock that propelled his team to a formidable total of 188 runs for the loss of eight wickets.

The young wicket-keeper batter’s innings of 79 runs off 49 deliveries showcased his skill and power, featuring eight boundaries and four sixes, at a remarkable strike rate of 161.22.

In response to the challenging target, Jaffna Kings, led by Perera, faced an uphill battle from the outset. Struggling to find their rhythm, the team lost six crucial wickets inside the 13th over with the scoreboard showing just 101 runs.

All-rounder Shoaib Malik offered some resistance, as he contributed 31 runs from 23 deliveries, which included three fours and a six, at an impressive strike rate of 134.78.

Yet, Kandy’s bowlers remained composed as Nuwan Pradeep’s pivotal dismissal of Malik crushed Jaffna’s aspirations. Captain Wanindu Hasaranga shined, as he took six wickets for only nine runs in his allotted four overs. Ultimately, Jaffna Kings were all out for 127 in 17.2 overs, falling 61 runs shy of the target.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.